DIY Meccano Necklace

Today’s post was inspired by a comment that one of my friends left on my Lego Brick Necklace post, where she wanted to know if I could try one in K’nex. While I was hunting out my old box of K’nex I came across my rather small box of Meccano. I never really liked Meccano that much so the box was quite small and this DIY pretty much used it all up. I thought while I had the K’nex out I would try giving the Meccano a go. I may have gotten so distracted by something that as a kid didn’t excite me all that much that I never got round to what I was intending to do.

What you will need;

– The Meccano in the picture below

–  Waxed Cotton Cord

You want to start by screwing these three together, but I wouldn’t do it up too tightly just yet.

Then it’s time for the other side. Again you don’t want to be doing it up too tightly.

The bottoms of both sides come together and cross over. This one can be tightened fully up.

Then it’s time for the bits for the side of the bottom. Don’t do them up that tightly yet, wait until you’ve attached them as otherwise they probably won’t fit on.

They can then be put on the bottom of the necklace. The screws that you didn’t tighten up in the last step can now be tightened up.

Now for the last bit. You need to decide on how long you want the necklace to be and cut the waxed cotton cord accordingly and tie it to the top. I’ve then added a little bit of clear nail varnish over the top just to help it stay in place a little. You can then decide where you want the top to peices of Meccano to lie and then tighten them up in the relevant position.

Your finished necklace will then look something like this…

I apologise for the quality of the final picture, no-one’s really been in at home the last couple of days and when they have it’s just been for five minutes. I do give it a go on my normal camera but after thirty odd attempts, I decided to just go for the webcam option. I’ve got an outfit post in mind for this one though, so hopefully there will be a post up in the next few weeks.

Sian

xoxo

3 thoughts on “DIY Meccano Necklace

  1. Pingback: Today I’m Wearing – 14/1/13 | Illustrated Style

Leave a Reply

